TOEIC Score Range

Today we are going to take a look at how the TOEIC test is scored. After completing the TOEIC test, you will receive a score that will serve as an estimate on your English skills. The time it takes for you to receive your score back depends on which format the exam was taken (paper-based or computer).

The TOEFL speaking and writing test takes approximately 3 to 4 weeks for the grading process and sent back to you. Your TOEIC score and certificate is valid for 2 years. If you are not happy with your TOEIC score you are allowed to retake the test.

Your official TOEIC score certificate will include your score of the different sections, overall score and percentile rank. The score also includes information of your strengths and weaknesses based on your score.

TOEIC Listening and Reading Test Score

You will receive a score for the listening and reading section. Each question is worth one point. The maximum score on the TOEIC is 990, 495 for each section. The total score ranges from 10 – 990.

• Score of 800 or more is considered advanced English proficiency
• 600 to 700: considered high intermediate
• 400 to 600: considered intermediate
• A Score less than 400: considered the proficiency of a beginner

TOEIC Score Range

The score report will include one of five possible colors based on your score.

Orange (10-215)
Brown (220-465)
Green (470-725)
Blue (730-855)
Gold (860-990)

TOEIC Speaking and Writing Score

The TOEIC speaking and writing section have a scaled score of 0 to 200. Different questions are worth different amounts of points.

In the speaking section questions 1–9 are rated on a scale of 0–3 while questions 10–11 are rated on a scale of 0–5. In the writing section, questions 1–5 are rated on a scale of 0–3, questions 6–7 are rated on a scale of 0–4, and question 8 is rated on a scale of 0–5.

While the rating is automatized through computers for the reading and listening test, a human rates the speaking and writing test.

TOEIC Score Range

TOEIC Speaking Score 0-200
TOEIC Writing Score 0-200

Just like the TOEIC listening and reading test, you will receive a proficiency level. The TOEIC speaking test has 8 levels, and the writing test has 9 levels.